Who says they aren’t?

When you’re trying to help someone and you think they appreciate it and then BAM all of a sudden you find out that they wanted to punch you in the face when you did that.. yeah that’s what happened to me.

Of course friendships, would be complicated, who says they aren’t?

Sure, I’m a teenager, I might not know what I’m talking about, heck I’ve only been living for a decade and a bit. Teens go through a lot of friends, from preschool, to now, you lose and gain friends, you might befriend people that you have a lot in common with or non at all, you could befriend someone just because they make you laugh. I know I have a wide variety of friends, sure some I might go out with, others I just talk to when I see them at school. I know that’s normal, they come and go but some stick by you from the start.

I don’t know about you , but I never got experience that, I’ve never had friends that I have known since I was in preschool or since prep. I’ve made friends, left them and befriended new people. I guess people with those type of friends are lucky and I envy them.

Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather is one of those things that give value to survival

– C.S Lewis

What motivated me to write this post is that, a few weeks ago one of my friends in my class left for the Philippines. I miss her dearly, but she had a close friend in my class. On the day the girl left for the Philippines, my friend was acting a bit strange. So I tried comforting her, a lot of people came up and asked where the other girl went and when told the truth would snort and say things like ‘forever alone’. At first I didn’t notice, but when I looked properly, my friend looked like on the verge of crying. I asked her if she was alright because she looked a bit sad. She replied she was ok and I left it at that because I didn’t want to pry and I also respected the fact that she didn’t want to share anything. Fine. Until, last night, when  I was on Twitter (yeah I’m new to it too as well as blogging) and saw she had a blog. Excited to have another friend that had a blog as well, I went on it and saw that regular posts about her life but when I went on one of her other posts, I read about her wanting to punch my face because I asked if she was ok? Really? People said ‘forever alone’ and when someone tries to comfort you, you want to beat them up?

I understand that that might be her way of coping with things. I’m not going to hold a grudge, I’m not even angry with her. You might as well forgive and forget…

Some friends might not hang around for long, so might as well cherish your time with them longer. Through hard/fun/sad/joyous times

Leave a Reply

